I was just about finished with a long post, and just before I Published my post, I managed to clear the content. And just after I cleared the content, Auto Save went and saved the empty post. All of my work, gone in a second. Now what?And the "what", unfortunately, is "nothing".
If you compose a long post, and depend upon Auto Save and Draft copies - and you lose the Draft content, or delete the post - you're out of luck.
You can recover a deleted Published post, under specific conditions. You cannot recover a Draft or Imported post, under any conditions.
Sorry, there is no magic here. This is another reason why I do not use Auto Save.