Long ago, Blogger Following (aka Google Friend Connect) was part of a non Google community of social networks. If you wanted to Follow a blog, you had to login to the Followers gadget, but separately from your login session with Blogger . This let you login to Blogger to maintain your blog, and to Follow other blogs, using any desired Blogger or Google account that you wished. You do not have to Follow other peoples blogs, using the same Blogger or Google account that you use to maintain your blog - nor do you have to logout from your Blogger account that you are using to publish to your blog, so you can Follow somebody else's blog. This lets you separate blog ownership identity from blog Following and surfing activity.
What Blogger won't tell you