An Important Update

Dear Followers Of This Blog ...

If you did not use a Blogger / Google account when you Followed this blog, years ago, you are probably not Following now . During the past...

Thursday, April 02, 2015

You Have To Request Spam Review

Many blog owners, alarmed by their blogs being classified (righteously, or spuriously) as spam hosts, decide to pack up and move to another hosting service.

We see the question, in Blogger Help Forum: Get Help with an Issue, too often.
Can I just get read access to the content, so I can take it and go elsewhere?
And the answer is firm and simple.
No.
You can't have deleted content back, without review.

Blogger will let you go - there's no problem with that. WordPress can always have more spam.

However, the content that is in the deleted / locked blog will stay, in the deleted / locked blog. Blogger won't let you have the content back - whether to create a new Blogger blog, or a blog outside Blogger / Google.

If you want the content, from your recently deleted blog, back, you have to get the blog reviewed, and restored.

To give access to content from a classified blog would encourage spammers to play endless games of 3 Card Monte, with their spam. Whenever a blog is classified, they will just setup a new blog, copy the content from the blog just deleted, and continue as before - same content, new URL.

If you want to stay, get the blog reviewed and restored - then clean up your act.

If you want to move on. move on. But you move on, and you get to start over.

Dude, hit me with a comment!

M. J. Joachim said...

Good to know. Personally, I hope I never have this problem, but the info is helpful just the same.