I just setup Google+, and now all of my photos are gone from my blog!
When you setup a new Google+ account, you'll see a rather monolithic privacy warning about your Picasa hosted photos becoming publicly visible.
You have only two choices here.
- Don't join Google+.
- Take a major step into the unknown.
This lack of choice confuses some blog owners, who may make one of two mistakes, after they join Google+.
- Some blog owners will delete their photos from Google+, not realising that this also deletes them from Picasa.
- Other blog owners may choose to make their photos visible only to members of their Circles.
Like many mistakes involving Blogger, there's good news, and there's bad news here. Blog owners who just deleted their Picasa accounts or hosted photos, thinking that this would only remove their photos from exposure in Google+, are truly out of luck. Like other mistakes involving Google / Picasa account deletion, this action is not recoverable. Delete your photos when setting up your Google+ account, and your photos are gone. That's the bad news.
On the other hand, if you chose to make your photos visible only to Circle members, you can recover, by changing the setting just made. Make them visible to everybody - which is how most blog owners share photos, on their blogs. Do just that, and your blog should show everything again, just as nothing happened. Of course, clear browser cache, to update your personal view of your blog, as usual.
If you deleted your Picasa account, I'm truly sorry for you. Maybe eventually, Picasa mistakes will be recoverable. Right now, and judging from the anguish being heard, this does not appear to be a possibility. Your only choice appears to be to edit each post, one post at a time. For each post, remove each deleted photo, and upload a new copy of each photo, one by one.