When You Import Posts Into Your Blog, Publish Later

When you export the contents of your blog, so you can import them to another blog, you will export all posts, without any choice.

If you import repeatedly to any blog, and you publish posts automatically, you will end up with duplicate posts. In almost all cases, you will find it best to not select "Automatically publish all imported posts", when importing.

To prevent possible future problems, you will want to clean up imported posts, after you have published all posts needed.

From the Posts menu, select "Imported".
  • First, select posts that you wish to publish, and hit "Publish Selected".
  • Next, select posts that you do not wish to publish, and hit "Delete Selected".
  • If you wish to edit some posts before publishing, don't Delete or Publish them, until later.

Simultaneously importing and publishing will make the import task take exponentially longer - days or hours, instead of minutes or seconds - to complete the import. The more posts being imported, the more posts in the blog already, and the size of the posts, will make the publishing portion of the import process take longer, when included in the import task.

If your computer - or your Internet service - is at all marginally loaded, you won't benefit from both importing, and publishing, at the same time.

If there is any problem - and the import / publish task terminates while only partially complete - having to identify what posts have been published, for any blog of any appreciable size, won't be fun. If you delete what you've published, you'll end up later re publishing posts with ugly suffixes.

It is far easier to repeatedly import - then selectively publish, then it is to publish everything then have to scan back through the entire blog and search for duplicated posts, with suffixed URLs. I tell you this, from experience.

Comments