Thursday, December 11, 2008

Deleting Your Blog

The process of deleting your blog has been a challenging issue for some time.

Prepare for the deletion first. Consider the issues.All of these issues bear discussion, before you start.

The deletion process itself is not complicated. Start from the dashboard Settings - Other screen.


There's the link - "Delete blog" - right at the top of the screen. Easy to find, and to click on.



Having clicked on the link, we get a good stern warning.
Deleted blogs can be restored within 90 days before they are removed forever.
Plain enough?


And a link to let you export the blog contents, before deleting the blog. I'd export first, any time. Just note, you will be able to restore the blog for up to 90 days after deletion - and then, never.

Note that the blog may disappear from your dashboard - but removing it from the search engines may take some planning. If you truly want to get rid of a blog (or the URL, anyway), you have 2 just choices:
  1. Transfer control of the blog to someone else, carefully.
  2. Make the blog into a stub, then re publish the stub under another URL.


>> Top

2 comments:

DARWEN REPORTER said...

someone told me that you can back up your blog by exporting it. Is this true?

Chuck said...

Darwen,

You can back up the comments and posts - not the gadgets or template though. You can back up the template, separately. There's no solution for backing up the gadgets yet.