There are various reasons for not wanting to delete a page / post immediately or permanently - maybe when removing a post for problem diagnosis, or to change the URL to match the publish date. Reverting to draft status is easily reversed, and has no permanent side effects.
When you want to quickly - but not permanently - remove a page or post, you can revert to draft status.
Reverting to draft status is convenient, safe, and simple.
You can revert a page or post using Page / Post Editor, or the Pages / Posts dashboard page.
- Revert, using the Pages / Posts dashboard pages.
- Revert, using the Page Editor / Post Editor.
Revert, using the Pages / Posts dashboard pages.
The Pages / Posts dashboard page is a menu. Simply select one or more pages or posts, then click "Revert to draft". Click on "Yes" to verify. and you're done.
Hit "Revert to draft", after selecting a page or post.
Revert, using the Page Editor / Post Editor.
Any time that you are editing a previously published page or post, click "Revert to draft". And you're done.
Hit "Revert to draft", when in page / post editor.
And when you're done, you're done.
Once a post is newly draft, it's offline. Page / post content in cache on your readers's computers will be readable until it expires. New readers, on the other hand, will see a "404" immediately.
You can recover the post with the URL - or rename to a new URL.
If you revert to draft - then later, re publish without changing the title, you will get the same post, with the same URL, back. If you change the title with the post in draft status, you get the same post content, under a new URL, when you re publish.
If you do the latter by mistake - then discover the mistake later, you can recover the mistake by merging the new and previous URLs. Just add a custom redirect from the new to old URL (or vice versa).
Review / Recover The Draft Inventory, With One Mouse Click
Any time that you need, review the inventory of Draft posts. Just click on "Draft" under "Posts". You can Edit then Publish - or just Publish, immediately.
Check out the current Draft posts complement, from Pages or Posts - Draft. Then recover one or more.
Just select one or more posts, then "Publish".
Or edit a page or post, then Publish.
Either way, you can recover any pages or posts, reverted, easily enough - as long as you revert them, instead of deleting them.
Just understand the possibilities.
Reverting a #Blogger blog post to draft status is a quick, yet reversible, way to take a post offline. The URL will be recovered, automatically - as long as you do not change the title.