Disable The "Mention people in your posts with Google+" Popup In Post Editor

We're seeing a new sense of frustration, in Blogger Help Forum: Something Is Broken.
How do I prevent the constant offer to
Mention people in your posts with Google+?
in Post Editor?

This is a new Blogger / Google+ feature. Like many Google+ features, this one can be refused. Many blog owners, seeing this offer, refuse it - and are never bothered by it, again. Their refusal is retained, by Blogger, in a Blogger cookie.

If you refuse the offer properly, Blogger Post Editor will remember your refusal, and not bother you again - if your browser / computer does not unwisely block cookies and scripts.

This unwanted offer, repeated, is another example of what we should expect, when we do not setup our cookie and script filtering properly.

The mention feature appears to be one more option being offered to people who are updating blogs published under Blogger accounts which use Google+ profiles. The unwanted persistence is apparently irritating some blog owners.

This feature, like many in Blogger, is sensitive to both filtering of cookies and scripts. You may need to enable (stop filtering) "third party cookies", in your browser and on your computer. That's the most common solution, for this problem - but you may have to search for other filter(s) that affect your use of Blogger / Google.

You can have a cookie or script filter
  • In a native browser feature.
  • In a browser add-on.
  • In a security feature, on the computer.
  • In a network device.

Remember that that any and all filters must be set properly. If you have more than one cookie or script filter, that's affecting your access to Blogger, all filters must be set properly, before this offer will stop popping up, in your Post Editor sessions.

>> Top

Comments