Be Careful With The "Edit Posts" PullDown "Label Actions" Menu

I use labels in this blog, a lot. I have a lot of related, overlapping topics in the many posts here, and labels are perfect for mapping the different topics. And I use the "Label Actions" pulldown menu, in "Edit Posts", to add, change, and delete labels on multiple posts. Many other bloggers do too, and some run into interesting problems.
There's an option to "remove" a label, but I couldn't get it to click. My cursor skipped over it. Right below that, there were two choices: Publish and Delete. Since the menu I was in is titled "Label Actions," it seemed logical that "delete' in this case referred to labels. So I hit delete, thinking it would then ask me which labels I wanted to delete. And poof, a message that all my POSTS are gone.


The blogger reporting the problem has subsequently examined the "Label Actions" menu for a second blog, and discovered the same option currently available on that blog too.

In brief, if you see "Delete" and / or "Publish" options in your "Label Actions" menu, don't blindly expect them to affect only labels when used. And if you're really introspective, ask Blogger to add verification, when "Delete" is selected in "Edit Posts".
You have selected to delete nn posts. Do you really want to do this?

Comments